The Rookie Fireman

Standard

On November 19th my BFF, we’ll call her Hot Momma, gave birth to her first child.  My honorary nephew, Baby Sparky, was born at 2:11pm.  While I waited impatiently for his arrival, I tried to distract myself by brainstorming for the blog.  I thought of the puppy pal I had made for him and the fire truck blankie.  All this musing brought to mind my first undertaking in the paper craft world.  Somehow I missed out on the scrapbooking craze.

When I couldn’t find invitations to fit our fireman themed baby shower, I decided to make them myself.  I worked really hard on them and was pretty impressed by how well they turned out.  I know some of you are shaking your heads and calling me a sissy, but really, I’m impressed by myself.  I, of course, did them the hard way.  No punches, just an X-acto knife and construction paper.  I found images on Google and printed them on corresponding paper.  You’ll see that some of them are multicolored.  For these the image was printed on each color, cut and assembled.  See, the hard way.

Something to note if you decide to take on a similar task, punches are lifesavers! And, more importantly, envelopes only come in so many sizes.  My invitations were not one of these, so I ended up making my own.  While it was a painstaking task, I’m glad I completed it.  Plus, these are better than any store bought ones anyway!!

So, in honor of Sparky’s Birthday, I wish you all luck in your own paper crafts!! I’d love to hear your success stories!

Leave a Reply

